.comment-link {margin-left:.6em;}

The GrunkleGuru

Grunkle is a slang term for the thick rough on a golf course that I have been using for many years. Given my penchant for inaccurate tee balls, I have become a bit of a guru out of the thick stuff, hence the name. This is a site for my random thoughts about sports (espeically golf) and life in general. While nothing special, it will hopefully offer a break from the daily drudgery for both you and me.

November 29, 2005

Rule of the Week - You Sunk My Golfball

It was a beautiful Sunday. 70 degrees, a slight breeze, and the Grunkle Guru and his friend/nemesis were enjoying their typical Sunday showdown. All square on 18, big bet on the line.

The Guru stride to the tee box and goes through his normal pre-shot routine. The 18th hole at Colonial Creek Golf Club is a daunting par 4. Measuring 438 yards from the back tees, this hole features a sloping fairway with deep rough that comes into play as the fairway narrows in the landing area about 280 yards out. Water fronts the green, and with today’s front right pin position, hitting the fairway is essential.

As the Guru addresses his ball he realizes that the wind has kicked up quite a bit, and he decides to go at the ball a little harder then normal. Naturally this leads to a slight disaster as his hips clear a split second too early and he blocks the ball ever so slightly off target and he ends up in the rough.

His opponent strides to the tee, and realizes that putting the ball in the fairway will give him a huge advantage. However, instead of relaxing and making a smooth swing, his desire to find the fairway leads to tension, and he too blocks his ball to the right. Both balls end up in the same area of the rough, and both have settled quite nicely down in the thick fescue rough.

As the players search for their respective balls, the Guru’s opponent comes across one and decides to take dead aim at the pin from 150 yards out. A deadened ‘thwunk’ is a precursor to the expected result. The ball comes out fat and after a shortened flight falls to its watery death with a splash and ripples in the water being the only sign that the ball ever existed.

The Guru continued to look for his ball, and finally came across one just a few paces from where his opponent played. As he got ready to strike his shot, he thought the dimple pattern looked different from what he was playing. He bent down and gently moved the grass to see if this truly was his ball.

“Weren’t you playing a Titleist?” he asked his nemesis.

“Yes,” he replied. “Titleist ProV1x. Number 4.”

“Well,” the Guru said, “here it is.”

“Then whose ball did I hit?” the nemesis asked.

“I have to assume mine.” Replied Guru. “Here’s your ball, and you lie 3 (two-stroke penalty). Looks like I have the advantage.”

“Not so fast!” screamed the nemesis. “You have to treat your ball as a lost ball since there is no way to prove I hit yours.”

What’s the ruling?

If there is reasonable evidence that the nemesis hit the Guru’s ball, then the Guru must place a ball at the spot from which the nemesis played the wrong ball without penalty.

Since both tee shots had landed in the same general area it is fair to assume that the nemesis did play the wrong ball. The Guru places a new ball and continues without penalty.

2 Comments:

At 10:13 PM, Blogger Patrick Eakes said...

This actually happened to me around 1993 in the Dupont World Amatuer Handicap Championship, although it was the middle of the round on Myrtle West.

 
At 10:10 AM, Blogger The Grunkle Guru said...

Which side of the decision were you on? A player of your stature I have to assume someone hit your ball.

 

Post a Comment

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home